Residents in Ohio have good reason to be concerned about drivers who refuse to put away their keys after they have been drinking. There are too many headlines to be found reporting on the death of innocent people at the hands of these drunk drivers. Such incidents have no reason to happen and are completely preventable if only people would make responsible choices. In some situations, the law may just need to be the way to force people to do this.
That may well be the logic behind a new law set to go into effect in Utah on December 30, 2018. Starting on that day, the legal limit for drunkenness by a driver will drop from 0.08 percent to 0.05 percent according to National Public Radio. Some people may criticize this move as they believe most accidents and deaths are caused by drivers with very high levels of alcohol in their systems.
The new law may well be a good way to prevent people with very high blood alcohol content levels from even thinking about driving. Depending on the gender and size of the person, one or two drinks may be all that is needed to reach a 0.05 BAC. Knowing this, perhaps fewer people will be willing to take a chance that they are under the limit and not even consider driving after drinking.
This is not the first time that Utah has led the nation in keeping people safe from drunk drivers. In 1983, Utah was the first state to reduce the then standard 0.10 percent BAC threshold to 0.08 percent.