When An Employer Retaliates After An Injury

As a worker, you have rights. Ohio law requires employers to maintain workers' compensation insurance to provide wage benefits and medical benefits to workers who have suffered a work-related injury or illness.

Ohio employers are prohibited from retaliating against an employee who has filed for workers' compensation benefits. An employer may not terminate, demote, fail to promote, harass or otherwise retaliate against an employee for filing a workers' compensation claim.

If you think you may have been subjected to workplace discrimination, contact Mezibov Butler in Cincinnati, Ohio. An experienced employment law attorney at our firm can review the facts of your case and help you determine if you have a basis for legal recourse.

Penalties For Employer Retaliation

If you have been wrongfully discharged, you may seek reinstatement, back pay and reasonable attorney's fees. If you have been wrongfully demoted, you may seek reinstatement to your old position, plus lost wages resulting from the demotion and reasonable attorney's fees. Back pay or lost wages will be subject to an offset for any wages you earned during the same period at another job. [Ohio Revised Code 4123.90]

You must give notice to your employer in writing within 90 days of the violation and you must initiate a legal action within 180 days, [ORC 4123.90] so it is critical that you contact a lawyer as soon as possible to protect your rights.

Contact Us

To schedule a consultation with one of our Cincinnati workers' compensation retaliation attorneys, call 513-621-8800 or contact us by email.